Board of Parks and Recreation



JUNE 5, 2020

After careful review and consideration, the Charles Town Board of Park and Recreation (“Board”) has made the difficult decision to keep the Jefferson Memorial Park public pool closed for the 2020 summer season.  The decision was made out of an abundance of care for the health of its visitors and staff and the reality that many of the groups that typically use the pool will not be operating as normal this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.  The Board and staff considered several options for opening the pool, but ultimately determined it could not find an adequate plan for operating a safe and successful pool this year.  We are committed to developing the necessary plans to reopen the pool next summer.

The Board also understands the importance of the pool to the community and that it has been a source of great fun and wonderful memories for so many individuals and families throughout the years.  We are determined to provide this public amenity to the people of Charles Town and our neighbors for years to come and have directed staff to assist us in using this time that the pool is closed to think strategically about the future of our pool facility.  Please consider providing feedback about your experiences with the pool and how we can improve the facility for the benefit of future generations.  A more formal tool for receiving feedback and process for engaging the community will follow later this summer.

We regret the decision to keep the pool closed during these uncertain times but look forward to seeing you at the pool next summer.

Nick Zaglifa


Charles Town Board of Park and Recreation

The primary purpose of the Board of Parks and Recreation is to act in an advisory capacity to city council on all matters pertaining to parks and recreation including operations, planning, acquisition, development, enlargement, maintenance, and use policies.

Charles Town Board of Parks and Recreation Commissioners

The Charles Town Board of Parks and Recreation is a seven-member board appointed by the Charles Town City Council, of which no more than two may be current city council members and one must be a representative from the Jefferson Memorial Park Board. Commissioners serve a six-year term, without compensation, and must be city residents. Current Commissioners are:

Todd Coyle (term runs with city council term)
Larry Vogler (term ends December 2020)
Trudy Roth – Jefferson Memorial Park Board Representative (term ends December 2020)
Nick Zaglifa – (term ends June 2021)
James Dusenbery – (term ends December 2022)
Samantha Viands – (term ends December 2024)
Julie Philabaum – (term ends December 2024)

If you are interested in serving on the Board or volunteering for other Board projects, please contact Daryl Hennessy at