The Charles Town Police Department received its national accreditation through the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement (CALEA) in July of 2022 and is committed to this model of professional excellence and continuous improvement.

The Charles Town Police Department's authorized staff includes 18 sworn police officers, 2 administrative assistants, 1 parking enforcement officer, and 5 crossing guards. The Command Staff consists of the Chief of Police and 2 Lieutenants. The Patrol Division has 3 Sergeants and 9 Officers to include 1 School Resource Officer. The Criminal Investigation Division consists of 2 Detectives, one of which is assigned to the Eastern Panhandle Drug and Violent Crimes Task Force.

The members of the Charles Town Police Department are hardworking, dedicated, and professional. They are grateful for the trust, confidence, and commitment the Mayor, City Council, and the community has placed upon them. Our website is designed to provide relevant and useful information regarding our organization, the services we provide, and current events.

I look forward to leading the Charles Town Police Department into the future where our top priority will always be to keep our residents safe.  As such, it is critically important for the department to remain focused on consistently improving our processes with proactive training programs.

I am confident in the ability of our officers, our leadership, and our community to work together to face the challenges ahead.

Christopher A. Kutcher
Chief of Police

Charles Town Police Department